Art · Poetry · Uncategorized

More Tiny Notebook Art + Tiny Notebook Poetry

Life is pretty crazy right now, I have to say. I’m on the cusp of graduating high school, working 3 jobs to pay for college, and still trying to maintain semi-normal sleep patterns?? Keyword trying. Anyways, with all this craziness it’s really hard to find time to do the things I love: sing, make art, write, dance, relax. This is where the tiny notebook comes in, yet again. Like I talked about in my last post, the tiny notebook is a way for me to get through the monotonous boredom of working in a call center, but now it’s purpose has grown even further. I’ve started even writing poetry while working, which is great because it’s something I don’t often find time for but is something I love to do. My poems are pretty mundane, but they’re personal to me. It’s a way to reflect on the day and capture it in my memory. Poetry to me is like a journal, and finding a way to incorporate it into my daily life is a great way to make myself actually do it. If I’m not doing creative things regularly, my soul feels starved and I feel like half a person. But that’s just who I am and what I enjoy. Everyone has their own different thing that is food for their soul, whether it be going out into nature, a certain activity, exercise. It’s painful to not have these things we love in our lives, especially because of timing. This is why I’m encouraging all of you to have your own tiny notebook version of the activities you love, and make them a priority. Think of little ways to incorporate it into your life, even if you have to shift things around or discover a creative way to find time to do it.

IMG_3217
I’m his dandelion princess,                                             the color of the sun,                                                          my stained hands are tiny                                              but he has me under his thumb                                          the world is smiling sweetly                                                in the breeze, flowers and bones                                       in the sandy afternoons and midnight walks home        bitter vodka and fresh mango                                             my yellow, orange, green                                                     summer hammocks and a handle                                       blue smoke through a screen                                               we love being young and dirty                                             licking salt off each other’s necks                                       days are turning sweetly slowly                                         and summer could never end.                                             but our hearts are cracking slightly                                     with the clock ticking away                                                 waiting for fall to frost the flowers                                     “young love” the homeless man said                                   
IMG_3222
my brother said the only way to make it is to let your demons take you                                            to love your craft with every part of yourself and let yourself bleed and die for it.                  To sing until your voice is crafted into liquid gold,                                                                        and your back and hips buckle from the fury on your body                                                        even if the things you demand are too much you love the taste of blood in your mouth.       To leave your heart on the stage and wear it outside of yourself                                          outstretched to the world to be kicked and spit on or worshipped.                                             Being an artist is back-breaking labor                 a whole life’s work and an everyday challenge to be better, more brilliant, more talented      and to be sure you deserve it.                         don’t say it’s not the most noble thing to do     the most difficult and necessary work in the world.                                                                    thank the artist in your life                                for being who they are

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

